The Team Jackulator Forums
April 25, 2024, 02:28:57 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help playlist Arcade Search Media Downloads Login Register  
The Jackulator 9000 Forums
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Send this topic  |  Print  
This topic has not yet been rated!
You have not rated this topic. Select a rating:
Author Topic: How to make a button?s audio stop when another button?s audio is triggered?  (Read 2756 times)
Shhhhh
MISSING IN ACTION
baby jack

Awards
« on: January 03, 2010, 01:54:15 pm »

Hi, hope it's OK to start a new thread? I'm just a little stuck on something...

I?m here at my pal?s, Macromedia Flash MX 2004 running. I have no experience at all with flash but by following instructions from the web I?ve managed to create two one-layered buttons (that trigger the appropriate audio) and a stop button. When I roll the mouse over the buttons they change colour, and again to another colour when clicked. I am able to stop the audio by clicking the stop button or by pressing the keyboard?s spacebar.

All is perfect apart from one thing? For example, at the moment if I trigger the audio from, say, button 1 and then click on button 2, the audio from button 1 will keep playing and overlap button 2?s audio, if that makes sense. I would like to write an action script in the buttons which makes the audio from one button stop when another button?s audio is playing, so there?s no overlap.

I tried writing for button 1:

on (press) {
stopAllSounds();
}

but this just makes button 1 into a stop button, no audio; if I click button 2, then button 1, button 1 stops button 2?s audio, but button 1 has no audio of its own with the above script.  tongue

Instead I tried for button 1:

on(release){
stopAllSounds();
}